arl.gif (859 bytes)  Return to Images

The Platonic Solids



Octahedron - Air

Icosa4.jpg (11410 bytes)

Icosahedron - Water

Dodecahedron - Universe/Divinity

This work honors one set of classical building blocks: the five regular (Platonic) solids: the tetrahedron, the hexahedron (cube), the octahedron, the dodecahedron, and the icosahedron. Only these five shapes meet certain mathematical criteria. In addition to being beautiful in their simplicity, these solids have many layers of symbol and meaning. Their recognition as special solids pre-dates Greek civilization, and can be traced to Egypt. In the hands of the Greeks, they symbolized the essential elements of existence: fire, earth, air, water, and the universe/divinity.

Tetrahedron - Fire

Hexa4.jpg (13467 bytes)

Hexahedron - Earth

1999-2013  Adrienne Klein